1. Home
  2. Insights
  3. Articles

Up and Comers Under 40 Q&A Arthi Cobb

Name: Arthi Cobb
Astrological Sign: Pisces
Year Joined Major, Lindsey & Africa: 2018

What attracted you to Major, Lindsey & Africa?

The international spread of senior retained in-house work has always been appealing to me. While we courted each other for a few years, it was notably the people that attracted me most to the company and why I made the decision to join in 2018.

What is the best part of your job?

The satisfaction of a job well done! Nothing makes me happier to find the perfect candidate for any job I take to market. Ensuring the highest quality of work is provided gets me up in the morning.

What is the most surprising part of being a recruiter?

While it shouldn’t come as a surprise, there are a fair amount of highs and lows that one experiences as a recruiter. Not every role is filled in a timely manner for one or various reasons out of our control, and sometimes even though we can see it coming, a declination of an offer can throw you off your game sometimes.

How would you describe your career in 5 words or less?

Rewarding, challenging, intellectually stimulating

Describe one of your successes thus far at Major, Lindsey & Africa.

Repeat business from various clients is an area I deem a success, both at MLA and historically in my career.

What advice would you give to someone considering becoming a recruiter?

It’s all about the relationships and taking the time to get to know people. There are no shortcuts in recruitment—at least there shouldn’t be in order to provide a quality service to clients. Patience is key.

If you weren’t a lawyer or a recruiter, what career would you have had?

Tough one! I always wanted to become a lawyer but didn’t go to university as I moved to the UK from South Africa to pursue a life here straight after school. I fell into recruitment by chance. I guess I could see myself doing something food oriented, like becoming a chef. I am a big foodie and love exploring with food. The pressure that comes with being a chef also appeals.

What is on your bucket list?

  • To live somewhere in Spain for a few years.
  • To travel as much as possible with my boys.

More Articles by [Author] 

There is currently no related content for this person
No More Results